Illinois: Every Legal, Medical, and Estate Planning Document You Need

Here's a complete guide to every critical medical, legal, and estate planning document and relevant state law for Illinois. Download these forms and get started with Pillar to organize all of your most important documents in one safe, secure, easy-to-use online storage solution

February 2, 2021

Now more than ever, it’s important to have your medical and legal documents in order. But how do you know which forms are valid in your state and how to make sure that you’re prepared for whatever life brings your way? To help you out, we’ve compiled this guide with information, links, and downloads of the most important forms and documents you need if you live in Illinois.

Start planning for the future with the most important medical, legal and estate planning forms and resources for Prairie State residents. Here’s everything you need to get started.

Important Illinois Medical Laws and Forms

How to Get Your Medical Records in Illinois

In Illinois, there is no specific law governing record retention by private physicians. However, the Illinois Hospital Licensing Act requires hospitals to retain medical records for at least 10 years from the date of your last treatment or appointment. Many private healthcare providers maintain medical records from the time of treatment up to the statute of limitations for lawsuits has expired.

In Illinois, a medical malpractice lawsuit must be filed within two years from the date the victim knew, or should have known of the malpractice and all malpractice actions must be brought no later than four years from the date of treatment. This statute is 8 years for minors. Thus most physicians in Illinois retain their patient records for at least 4 years for adults and 8 years for minors.

Who Owns Your Medical Record in Illinois?

In Illinois, medical records are physically owned by the health care provider, but you always have the right to review your own medical records.

To get a copy of your medical records, you have to submit your request in writing. The health care facility or practitioner has 30 days to respond. The fees for a copy of your medical records can’t exceed:

  • $20 handling charge
  • $0.75 per page, (first 25 pages)
  • $0.50 for pages 26-50
  • $0.25 cents for all additional pages
Learn more about your medical records rights 

Illinois Advance Directive for Healthcare

The law in Illinois legally protects four types of advance directives:

  1. Mental health treatment preference
  2. Health care power of attorney
  3. Living wills
  4. Practitioner orders for life sustaining treatment (POLST)

You can download all of these advance directives here.

How to Become and Organ Donor in Illinois

113,000 people across the United States are waiting for an organ lifesaving transplant. 4,000 of those patients live in Illinois. You can become an an organ, eye and tissue donor by registering with Illinois Organ/Tissue Donor Registry or the National Donate Life Registry.

Essential Legal & Estate Planning Documents: Illinois

How to Create a Will in Illinois

Setting up a will in Illinois is easier than you think. You can even change or revoke your will after you file it.

Learn more about the legal frameworks for wills and probate in Illinois.

Illinois Trust Law

In the state of Illinois, a living trust allows the recipients of a deceased person's assets to avoid supervision of the court on the probate process.

Download these living trust forms to get started:

Learn more about the biggest differences between a will and a trust

Illinois Estate & Inheritance tax laws and rates

Illinois is one of a dozen states that does have an estate tax, although there is no inheritance tax. As of 2021, estates in Illinois are taxed at 16%.

How to Get a Death Certificate in Illinois

Illinois death certificates are only available to those who have a personal or property right interest with the deceased. If you are not a relative of the deceased, a letter or document from the office or agency that needs the death certificate must accompany the request.

The “search fee” for a death certificate is $17 in Illinois, which includes one certified copy of the death certificate or a “Certificate of No Record”.

To obtain a death certificate, you’ll need the following information:

  • The decedent’s full name
  • The date of death
  • The city of the county where the death occurred, if known
  • The parent(s) name(s)
  • Your relationship to the decedent
  • The reason for requesting record
  • Photocopy of ID or driver’s license

How to Get Marriage Records in Illinois 

Click either of these links to obtain marriage records or dissolution of marriage records in Indiana.

Illinois State Income tax

For more information on Illinois state tax rates, click the links below for both individual and business tax forms:

How to Organize Your Most Important Documents

Life can be complicated, no matter where you live. Create your customized account with Pillar and safely scan, store, and even share all of your most important medical, financial, and legal documents from one secure online cloud storage solution so you have everything you need for all of life's biggest moments.

Start your free 14-day trial and let Pillar help make the complicated stuff a little easier to manage.