Here's a complete guide to every critical medical, legal, and estate planning document and relevant state law for Wyoming. Download these forms and get started with Pillar to organize all of your most important documents in one safe, secure, easy-to-use online storage solution
February 2, 2021
Planning for the future is the best way to make the medical and estate process as easy as possible — for you and your loved ones. To help you get the process started, we created this comprehensive guide to all the most important medical, legal, and estate planning documents you need to know about if you live in the Cowboy State.
Here’s your complete guide to Wyoming's state laws, forms, and essential documents.
Wyoming state law requires that doctors and healthcare providers must retain medical records for at least 10 years from the last visit or treatment.
Patients can also request access to their records under the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). The authorization should be in writing, signed and dated, specify what can be revealed, and make known the person to whom the patient's health care information is to be disclosed.
To get a form of your medical records, fill out this release form and your request for medical records must be copied and made available to you in ten (10) business days.
An advance directive is a legal document that allows you to provide orders for a wide variety of health care decisions and appoint an official to make those decisions for you if you are unable or unable to do so yourself. It typically includes the following documents to help you communicate your decisions:
Residents of Wyoming who are at least 18 years of age can register to become an organ, eye, and tissue donor when you get or renew your driver license or state ID, or at Donate Life Wyoming.
You must sign or accept your will in front of two witnesses for a will to be valid in Wyoming, and those witnesses must sign your will. Your witnesses also can’t stand to inherit. While you don't need a notary to make your will legal, a notary will only allow you to "self-prove" your will.
A "living trust" is a trust that you build while you're alive. The Trust Law of Wyoming is versatile and allows several trusts. There are several forms that a "living trust" from Wyoming can take. When caring for your family afterwards, you will build a trust to provide throughout your lifetime. They can be used to reduce taxes, secretly own assets, secure assets, and more.
In general, "probate" refers to the court-supervised method of transferring property legally from a deceased person to a living person. Under the Wyoming Probate Code, property owned in an individual's sole name will usually be passed to his or her heirs. However, the estate must first satisfy the final debts, expenditures, and tax liabilities of the individual.
Wyoming provides a streamlined probate, or “short affidavit” procedure for smaller estates. After liens and encumbrances are subtracted, the worth of the entire estate cannot be greater than $200,000 to apply for the affidavit phase.
To arrange a short affidavit, heirs must state that they are entitled to a certain estate, signed under oath. They release the asset when the individual or organization keeping the property receives the affidavit and a copy of the death certificate. It is important to file the affidavit with a county clerk, and there is a 30-day waiting period.
Wyoming does not have an inheritance tax or estate tax. However, if you inherit property from another state, the state may have an applicable estate or inheritance tax. On behalf of the deceased, you would still definitely have to file any taxes such as the federal estate task. In addition, the federal estate tax applies if the inheritance is large enough.
Digital estate planning is regarded as outlining what happens to your "digital property". This consists of
Revised Uniform Fiduciary Access to Digital Assets Act (RUFADAA) was drafted, and the bill provides a framework for all fiduciaries when addressing matters of digital assets in an estate. Furthermore, it provides tiers of how the deceased may provide that consent. To know more, check out the SF0034 Uniform Fiduciary Access to Digital Assets Act.
Death certificates in Wyoming are issued by the Vital Statistics Services, an office established by the Wyoming Department of Health. Section 35-1-418 of the Wyoming Statutes Annotated mandates that a death certificate be submitted within three days of death or the date on which the individual is discovered.
The ‘search fee’ for a death certificate is $10 and includes one approved copy of the death certificate. Every additional copy of the ordered certificate is $10.
If the date of death is unknown, a searching fee of $13 for every five years searched is charged, which includes either a certified copy or verification of the record if one is found.
Life can be complicated, no matter where you live. Create your customized account with Pillar and safely scan, store, and even share all of your most important medical, financial, and legal documents from one secure online cloud storage solution so you have everything you need for all of life's biggest moments.
Start your free 14-day trial and let Pillar help make the complicated stuff a little easier to manage.